Date: 29th May 2024 at 5:15pm
Written by:

These goalies have done incredible in the Premier League by winning Golden Glove awards three times in a row.

The Premier League 2023–24 is over, and the individual awards have been announced. The Golden Glove this season was surprisingly awarded to Arsenal shot-stopper David Raya. The Gunners’ new signing this season has been impressive, as he has kept clean sheets in 16 games, helped them join the title race this season, and made crucial saves, including on penalties, as Mikel Arteta’s men eliminated FC Porto in the Champions League round of 16. Should Raya keep up with his stunning form next season, Arsenal tickets could potentially remain in high demand for every match. 

In addition, the former Brentford and Blackburn man could be the next goalie to win Golden Glove awards three times in a row, following his two predecessors. These two exceptional figures between the sticks remain the only two goalkeepers who have had such a distinguished record in Premier League history. Here are those outstanding shot-stoppers who are currently on the verge of their last days on the pitch.

Pepe Reina (Liverpool)

The current Villareal man was the first to win three times in a row during his time at Liverpool. He joined the Reds in the summer of 2005 as the first choice due to Dudek’s inconsistent form. He instantly impressed the fans with his action between the sticks and won the Golden Glove award after keeping clean sheets in 20 games, including the tough matches versus Manchester City and Tottenham in both fixtures. Reina was not conceded in a home game against Manchester United either, plus five fixtures in the Champions League, including both fixtures in the clash versus Chelsea. Both had to share spoils in a goalless stalemate. The former Barcelona shot-stopper was instrumental in their FA Cup campaign, leading to their victory in the summit versus West Ham. He saved three penalties in the shootout and lifted his first trophy with Liverpool in his very first season on English soil.

Unfortunately, his clean sheet record was decreasing in the following two seasons, despite still being able to win the award. His clean sheet went down from 19 in 2006/07 to only 18 in the 2007/08 campaign. In the former season, his team was not conceded in both fixtures against Spurs plus a home game versus the Blues, which ended in a 2-0 win. Reina also helped the Reds reach the Champions League final in 2007 but suffered a 2-1 defeat against the same opposition in the UCL final in 2005, AC Milan. Liverpool’s position in the final standings in both seasons was not entirely satisfactory either. They only sat third and fourth, respectively, in those campaigns.

The Spaniard eventually left the Reds in 2013, initially on loan to Napoli, before becoming a journeyman since then by signing for Bayern Munich, AC Milan, Aston Villa, and Lazio. Reina finally returned to the Yellow Submarine in the summer of 2022 as the second fiddle. 

Joe Hart (Manchester City)

The former England international enjoyed his spell at Manchester City from 2007 to 2016. Hart was dubbed the best goalkeeper England had back then, and his time with the Citizens was perfect as they began their transformation from a mid-table team to a title contender. Hart was even instrumental when his team clinched the Premier League title dramatically in the 2011–12 season as he kept clean sheets in 17 matches, which was one goal lower compared to his records in 2011 and 2013. In both seasons, where Roberto Mancini’s side only finished third and second, respectively, the current Celtic man managed to make 18 clean sheets. He also helped them snatch the FA Cup title in 2011. The most notable games in the 2011–12 campaign for Joe Hart were the crucial wins over Arsenal, Manchester United, and Liverpool at home. He managed to keep clean sheets when his team thumped the Gunners and the Red Devils 1-0 each, plus they smashed the Reds three goals to nil. 

Nevertheless, his bright days in the Etihad soon turned into gloomy ones as Pep Guardiola arrived in 2016. Hart lost his place in the starting XI since he was deemed unsuitable for Guardiola’s tactics. The Spanish boss is always in favor of the ball-playing modern goalkeeper, while he is only a classic one who does not utilize his foot very often in the attacking build-up from the backline. His tendency to commit unnecessary errors only added to his misfortune. His loan spells at Torino and West Ham did not go well. Hart then signed for Burnley and Tottenham as the backup before switching sides to Celtic in 2021 and regaining his confidence, despite some more errors he made. The 37-year-old shot-stopper eventually opts to hang his gloves at the end of the season.

Ederson (Manchester City)

The most recent one is the current Manchester City man, Ederson Moraes. He was awarded the Golden Glove in 2020, 2021, and 2022. On the contrary, Reina’s clean sheet record was improving from 16 games in 2020 to 19 games in 2021 and 20 games in 2022, in which he shared the accolade with his Brazilian fellow and rival, Liverpool’s Alisson Brecker. 

Ederson is a typical modern goalkeeper who is comfortable with the ball on his feet. He also just won FIFA Best Goalkeeper last year after helping Manchester City win the treble. Surprisingly, he did not win the award last year. From 2020 to 2022, the former Benfica man only won domestic trophies for his clubs, two league titles, and two EFL Cups. Manchester City did reach the Champions League final in 2021. Yet, they were beaten by Chelsea 1-0 in Lisbon.

Interestingly, in those three seasons, Ederson was never able to keep a clean sheet in all clashes versus The Citizens’ archrival, Liverpool, except one meeting in July 2020, when The Reds had secured the title. At that time, the season was halted for three months in March and resumed in the middle of June. Both teams were involved in a tight title race almost every season. 


Comments are closed.