Date: 14th November 2021 at 4:47pm
Written by:

Arsenal F.C is one of the most storied of clubs, founded in 1886, and having enjoyed a great deal of silverware in their time, including a record 14 FA Cups.

Arsenal have a global reach, partly thanks to the team, led by then manager Arsene Wenger, nicknamed ‘The Invincibles’. This was from the 2003/04 season where, unmatched by any other team in Premier League history, the team remained unbeaten throughout the entire campaign, in their charge to league winners status. They were awarded a gold Premier League Trophy to commemorate this mammoth task – the usual colour for the title winners trophy is silver.

Even though Arsenal fans have become despondent since such glory days in the league, as 2003/04 was the last time they won it, they have still managed four FA Cup wins in the last seven years.

It is impossible, when talking about the most successful clubs in the modern era, not to have Arsenal within the list, especially as they are now one of only six ever present clubs since the Premier League was founded in 1992. They join Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur in the list, with Aston Villa being the last team to lose that status, following their relegation in 2016.

Arsenal’s first taste of success:

Their first bit of success came in the Kent Senior Cup, under the name Royal Arsenal, back in the 1889-90 season, the year before the club turned professional.

And on it went:

For their first national success, the club had to wait more than 30 years after turning professional. They won The Football Association Challenge Cup in 1930.

The full list of FA Cup wins is: 1929–30, 1935–36, 1949–50, 1970–71, 1978–79, 1992–93, 1997–98, 2001–02, 2002–03, 2004–05, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2016–17, 2019–20

EFL and Premier League First Division / Premier League (Winners (13): 1930–31, 1932–33, 1933–34, 1934–35, 1937–38, 1947–48, 1952–53, 1970–71, 1988–89, 1990–91, 1997–98, 2001–02, 2003–04

League Cup / EFL Cup Winners: 1986–87, 1992–93


Their success in Europe has been more scarce, although The Gunners did win The European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1994.

In the 1969-70, they won the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup that is considered the forerunner of UEFA Cup.

Double seasons:

Arsenal have enjoyed four double seasons, in 1970-71 (Premier League and The FA Cup), 1992-93 (League Cup and The FA Cup), 1997-98 and 2001-02 (Premier League and The FA Cup).

Other trophies

They have won 16 FA Community Shields. The full list: 1930, 1931, 1933, 1934, 1938, 1948, 1953, 1991 (shared), 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2014, 2015, 2017 and 2020.

They’ve also won the League Centenary Cup held for the 100th Birthday of The Football League, and they are the only team to have such a trophy.

The Arsenal ladies team

Let us not forget Arsenal also boast the most titled English professional women football team. They have a total of 58 trophies on their account along with all the English major trophies which are:  FA Women’s Premier League, FA Women’s Cup and FA Women’s Premier League Cup. Arsenal Women is also the only English women team to hold the UEFA Women’s Cup won in 2006-07 which was by the way the quadruple season for this team with 4 trophies won in a single season.

Most storied indeed

As said, a most storied of clubs, the above shows clearly why and how they have earned a worldwide name in the sport so lovingly called the beautiful game.

Bookmakers agree that even though Arsenal has not won the Premier League for years, many fans still put quite high amounts of money in bets in places like bookie’s offices, betting platforms or even in an online casino in Malta, where a lot of people are interested in British football. Arsenal is known and considered one of the best teams all round the globe even though their latest seasons were not as astonishing as the one that earned them the nickname The Invincibles.


Comments are closed.